Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a growing trend in terms of the effects of watching movies and television. Some people state that they have a huge impact on young people's behavior, whereas others disagree with this opinion. I agree with the former view for the following reasons.

To begin with, watching movies and television significantly deteriorate students’ grades. In the past, they are broadcasted in a simple way, which provided essential information within a short time. Nowadays, however, the stations split them into several sections in order to offer engaging products. Consequently, they will end up spending their time in front of TVs all day long, resulting in getting dreadful scores. For instance, an attractive British movie was prevalent when I was a high school student. I unintentionally watched it on TV, finding it intriguing. As a result, my after-school life was dominated by this entertainment and my GPA was dramatically declined.

Second, teenagers seem to feel depressed when they watch TV and movies since a few of them contain violent scenes. Three decades ago, broadcasting violent actions was strictly prohibited to prevent children from watching murder cases and dirty jokes. Nowadays, however, this regulation has been eased due to protect the freedom of expression, which resulted in exposing negative contents to the young generation. A study by Oxford University shows that the more violent scenes are displayed, the more threats are posed in youngsters’ brains. This example shows how checking television could serve as a harmful media.

Admittedly, watching television and movies does have merits. In fact, this broadens our horizons. Take my sister as an example, she watched Italian movies as a daily routine. Seeing Italian trends and fashions, she has in details of Italian cultures. However, the prices of movies were not so reasonable that her budget was always tight. In addition, making Italian friends can be substitute for movies as they can teach not only cultures but also Italian language.

In conclusion, given that watching amusements has dreadful effects, we should limit the broadcasting the entertainments.