Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of the internet technology, more and more ways can be found by teens to watch a film or a television program. Some people argue that these activities have a negative effect to teenagers' behaviour. Generally, I agree with this opinion. In several aspects the video programs do influent young people bad.

Firstly, teenagers sometimes learn imporper behaviors through movies or TV programs. As we all know, one of the most common ways for young peoples to learn new things is by emulating. Nowadays, to attract more audience, most videos are trying to bring more exite. Consequently, they are now more or less full of violent or bloody scenes, crimes, sex, and so on. As a result, with such videos, frequency of teen crimes may be unsupprisingly raised.

Secondly, teens usually spend too much time in watching videos. As the videos nowadays is very attractive, many would easily get addicted. The story of one of my cousins is a very good example. He has just finished his last year in senior high school and has had a college enrollment exam, which is vital for his admission. However, he failed the exam, and had to apply for some colleges in a lower class. He was a really good student when he was in the middle school, in which he always ranked in top 3 of his class, until his being addicted to TV programs. As far as I know, he had spend all his semester in his room watching videos like Sherlock, Rick and Morty, etc. He even didn't show up in a great portion of his classes. Althrough, frankly speaking, it's my cousin fault, who shouldn't watch too much entertaining videos, the videos did occupy his time and his supervisors like teachers and parents are supposed to take efforts to keep him from addiction.

Some would say that some videos like Discovery, which is a great documentary series, may help students learn more useful knowledge. However, they usually have some other better choices. Learning from TV programs has several disadvantages compared to other options like text books. For example, most of the videos are decorated by untruth for better effect, and they usually break the whole knowledge chain into several parts. Therefore, students learn from documentaries may find the information provided is misleading or confusing. Like stated before, instead of learning from documentaries, text books may be a better option, in which a student could learn systematically and accurately.

As a conclusion, although sometimes movies and TV programs may be benificial, in a more generic way, they are bad to young people.