Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In recent years, the technology has greatly advanced, leading to the presense of televisions and movies in everyone's daily life. It has been an ongoing debate in the society over the question that whether movies and televisions are good or bad for young people's behavior. Personally speaking, I think that movies and televisions actually have more positive effects than negative ones on the way young people behave.

First of all, watching movies and televisions make young people socialized. Specifically, if a group of friends all watch the same TV series, they can have a lot topics to chat. Furthermore, they can even watch movies or TV shows together, enhancing their socialization skills. Take me as an example. In my dormitory, all roommates will always meet in the living room to see a detective TV show on every weekend. As a result, every week we can share foods and drinks and gossip with each other. Finding something in common -- especially when we are from different majors that seldom take a same course -- makes our relationship more solid. Eventually, such activities can accelerate our adaptation into the society.

Moreover, enjoying films, undoubtly, makes young people relaxed. Nowadays, the youth are feeling pressure from various sources, for example, due to either families' expectation, teachers' assignments, or simply peer pressure. So they definitely need some way to relax. In fact, every time I feel tired due to my courses, I will choose to watch some comedy shows from my tablet. In such a way, I can get rid of everything that makes me worried and utimately enjoy the actors' delicate presentation. After that, I will always feel happy and relaxed, again ready for my further study. In short, watching movies can reduce teenagers' pressure; hence, it is good for their mental health.

At last, maybe somehow controversially, watching movies can make the youth more knowledgable. In contrast with the common sense that gathering in front of the television is a waste of time and makes nonsense, I believe the audience can learn a lot from movies. For example, one of my friends really loves documentaries, especially those about wild animals in Africa. Consequently, he behaves quite well in biology-related courses: more specifically, his GPA is four out of four, namely perfect, on all these courses. Thus, inspired by the fact that many movies and TV shows contain various knowledge about biology, chemistry, politics and history in an entertaining way, it is safe to conclude that such videos can greatly benifit teenagers' knowledge and even academic performances.

To conclude, due to the aforementioned facts that movies can make the youth socialized, relaxed and knowledgable, I believe movies' advantages overweighs their disadvantages.