Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Nowadays, movies and televisions play prominent roles in our lives. People spend a lot of time on watching TV or movies. They absorb variety information from TV and other social media, from the latest political campaign to the cutting-edge of medical discovery. Some people may believe that the negative effects of movies and television programs outweigh the positive effects of them; others may disagree. In my view, although in some cases the advantages of TV and movies are considerable, nevertheless, negative effects of TV and movies on youth are more than positive effects for two important reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, there is too much violence on TV and movies these days. Since teenagers are at an impressionable age, anything they are exposed to could seriously impact on their behavior. My experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a bachelor student, I had to live in a dormitory. One of my roommates, namely Samira, was really interested in horror movies. She usually watched a horror movie per week. Unfortunately, she disliked one of my roommates who was really calm and cool. They usually had a quarrel with each other. One night, Samira was extremely angry due to the quarrel that she had had with my roommate. I'm not exaggerating at all, she decided to hurt my roommate by a knife. I was really afraid. Finally, one of the dormitory directors interfered and tried to relax her. According to a new survey conducted by the New York University, she is not the only student who affected by horror movies. The experience thought me that some movies could have bad effects on youth which could be extremely dangerous.

Furthermore, it is more likely that young people do not follow their talents and abilities. Television shows are not customized for individuals. People have different talents and abilities, and it is really important for them to follow their talents to be successful. Especially, youth is the period in which we should make important decisions for our future. Again my experience illustrates the value of this. When I was a high school student, my close friend was such a talented student. She painted drawings which were fascinating. I always thought that she would be a famous artist in the future. Unfortunately, in that period, our country needed computer engineers for working in companies and factories. As a result, all the television programs was about advantages of computer engineering and some other engineering majors. When we graduated from high school, my friend decided to educate in computer engineering. After a while, she understood that was not interested in her major and quit university. As you can see, watching TV could affect the future of youth because it doesn’t allow them to find their talents.

To sum up, I strongly believe that televisions and movies disadvantages outweigh the advantages of them, especially about young people. Not only does it have a lot of violent scenes, but also it does not allow young people to follow their talents. Every country should pass laws to limit television shows for special groups of people.