Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Arts and sports play prominent roles in our lives. We usually like to do either art or sports activities in our spare time. A few numbers of people like to play sport at the highest levels to become athletic. The importance of arts and sports is crystal clear, but controversial issue is that some people believe that governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics; others may disagree. In my view, although support of the athletics is really important because athletics of each country are well-known all around the world, nevertheless, support of the arts are far more important for two important reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the proportion of the people who are interested in arts activities are much above the people who play athletic sports. In other words, just a few numbers of people like to take part in sports as an athletic, but a large number of people like to do art activities. My experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a high school student, I had a lot of classmates who were really interested in artworks such as playing a musical instrument, play in a movie theatre, painting a drawing etc. Our school had sports teams as well, and some of the students spent their time on playing a sport. The school had two or three students who participated in matches each year. Unfortunately, our school did not have facilities or classes for students to do art activities. Indeed, the main goal of the school was to prepare a few numbers of students for matches. However, they were not successful all of the years. If the school spent more money in support of the arts, the students enjoyed doing artworks. As you can see, the quantity is more important than quality in some cases.

Furthermore, works of art are the main part of our culture. Arts are originated from different parts of the world. Each of them presents the culture of the country where it belongs to. Again my experience illustrates the value of this. Almost six months ago I traveled to India. I visited five big cities in India. In one of them, namely Hyderabad, we went to a museum. There were a lot of statues of Indian gods which were really awesome. They were made out of stone, wood, clay etc. It was notable that they were symbols of different religions India from the past to the present. Also, there were too many artworks out of tusks. I had never seen them before I visited India. When I came back to my country, I explain about them to my family members. They were really interested and decided to travel to India. The experience thought me that artworks of different countries vary each other, and could attract tourists from all over the world.

To sum up, I strongly believe that the government should spend more money in support of the arts. Not only do the number of people who are interested in art activities outweigh the people who want to play sport at the highest level, but also artworks have a more important role in the culture. Every country should pass laws to allocate more budget to invest more money in art activities.