Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

Friends are very important in our lives. Sometimes our friends are more close to us rather than our family members. Some people may believe that the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily, others may disagree. Even though some people might find the ability to make many new friends better because they could have a large group of friends, in my view a small group of close friends over a long time is far more important for two important reasons which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, a lot of people are close to us when we have no problem. In other words, when we have a problem or difficulty, it is more likely that just a few numbers of our friends help us. My experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a Bachelor student, I have a large group of friends. I had eight roommates that were my friends. We spend a lot of time together. We went out camping, shopping etc. but just one of them was close to me. She was my classmate too. After one year from the time that we were friends, I had to change my room in the dormitory. My new roommates had different personality traits and I could not make new friends. I felt alone and was really depressed. My close friend who was my classmate changed her room just for me. She is my best friend now and we had a lot of good times together. The experience thought me that it just our close friends stay with us in hard situations.

Furthermore, we could satisfy our friend better when we have a small group of friends. People have different interests. Each person lives in a way different from others. It is unlikely that we could find a friend who is similar to us. As a result, managing a large group of friends with different interests is really hard. Again my experience illustrates the value of this. As I mentioned above, I had a number of friends with different interests when I was a bachelor student. Whenever that we want to go out, we had an argument about the place that we wanted to go. Some of my friends liked to go to a park or beach, others liked to go to the cinema or movie theater. For this reason, most of the times, some of my friends were upset with me. As you can see, it is easier to manage a small group of friends.

To sum up, I strongly believe that a small group of close friends is better to make a lot of new friends. Not only will we have the support of a few numbers of friends in hard situations, but also we could satisfy all of them easily. Every person should have a small group of close friends who are with them in all conditions.