Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this modern era, one way to fill the leisure time is watching television that affects people’s life and behavior. While some believe that the positive effects of television are more than negative ones, I believe that television has more negative impacts that involve the youth especially. In the ensuing paragraphs, the reasons substantiating my standpoint are elaborated.

To begin with, it is significant to be mentioned that in this sophisticated world, television has influenced people’s lifestyles. To be more specific, people and especially the youth spend a great deal of their daily time on watching television. On the other hand, despite the censors that are exerted to the television programs, there are some programs that have violence content, which are one of the most favorable programs that young people prefer to watch. Thus, being not aware of these negative effects on their behavior, young people watch these programs on television. An example can derive this fact home. My 18-year-old son was accustomed to watch television series with the content of violence last month. He got involved in the first character of the movie and tried to imitate his behavior and my son’s treatment got worse day by day. Thus, I prohibited him to watch this serial and decided to filter the movies he saw and reduce the amount of time he spent watching television. Had he watched this type of program more, his behavior would have been aggravated.

Furthermore, currently, television programs cause some young families to collapse. To be more specific, some television programs usually seen by young families, increase luxury trends leading to elevating the level of expectation. Additionally, there are several programs that propagate disloyalty between couples and meanwhile, young couples are more vulnerable and are supposed to be more affected. As a case in point, an in-depth study conducted in some developing countries demonstrates that in 2012, 38% of young couples in Uganda, who watched television in their free time got divorced. However, 78% of the young couples spending their free time going out or doing other kinds of activities such as solving crosswords have a prosperous married life. Therefore, the more young couples watch television, the worse their behavior is, the higher the rate of the divorce is.

To sum up, taking all the reasons and points mentioned above into account, one could conclude that the negative effects of television on the youth’s behavior are more than positive ones. It is because not only do the youth learn violence in television programs, but also television affects the marital life of young couples negatively.