Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Nowadays people are more willing to help people they don't know (for example, by giving clothing and food to people who need them) than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Are today's people more generous than those who lived in the past? The answer to this question has raised a lot of debate among people. Some people may hold the viewpoint that nowadays because of the fast pace and also the complexity of people's lives, they would rather develop a kind of lifestyle that is rooted in individualism. However, other people may take the opposite opinion and believe that modern-day people are more cognizant of the severe quality of life in other areas. Thus, they are more eager to help those people who are in urgent need of food and clothing. I personally incline towards the latter opinion. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through some notable reasons.

My first reason and maybe the most important one is that because of the development of social media and the incredible improvement in the information transfer speed, people nowadays have more knowledge about other parts of their country and the world. In the past, people exclusively donated money and goods to those in their vicinity. Nevertheless, in the modern era, people are more likely to know about extreme disasters occurring to people who live thousands of kilometers far away, and this feature of modern life have made people closer in one sense. For instance, when an earthquake happens in a corner of the world, as soon as its news spreads, people from all over the world will send a large variety of food and other primary goods to those areas.

My second reason is that transferring goods have been also facilitated nowadays. Unlike the past when people had to use livestock to carry a limited quantity of merchandise, people today are able to transfer a large variety of goods to the opposite side of the world at an unbelievable speed. Fast means of transportation help us a lot to deliver items to areas in distress while keeping them fresh and intact. The world seems like a small village today, and distances have vanished after the fast development of technology.

Lastly, I think a strong feeling of altruism has been spread among people nowadays. We all see parents making great attempts to inculcate a sense of humanism into their children. Because of the relative prosperity of people, they are more likely to develop preoccupations with issues more than just what relates to themselves. From my point of view, human beings are going to make huge progress in many aspects. Not only has modern life given people technological advances, but also it offers them a great opportunity to pay particular attention to issues that were considered senseless before since people were busy with meeting their basic needs all the time, having no time and enthusiasm to spend thinking about other people's difficulties.

In summary, based on the aforementioned arguments, I firmly believe that nowadays people are more eager to help other people they don't know compared to the past. Some reasons, like the fast speed of information transfer, the development of swift means of transportation, and the spread of a sense of altruism among people, are mentioned above. However, that was like a story in a nutshell. Actually, there are some other ideas and reasons challenging this claim, which are not mentioned above. All in all, I firmly believe that people today help other people more often than in the past.