Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: one can learn a lot about another person from the books and the movies that the person likes.

With the rise of the living standard, an increasing number of people attach great importance to adapt some measures to relax, such as reading some books or watching movies. Someone believes that people can learn a lot about another person from the books and the movies that the person likes, including someone’s personality, interests and hobbies and so on, and as far as I am concerned, this statement is tenable, the reasons of which are as follows.

To begin with, during reading the books that the person likes, it is beneficial to know what the person’s interests or hobbies are in his daily life. It is people’s interests that motivate people to take an action. And when people pick up the books, there exists the possibility that they might consider the books related to their interests. For one thing, sensitive people always like to read some comic books, which can give them power to face the challenge with smile and cheer them up. For another thing, realistic people prefer to choose the tragic story, which can let them realize a variety of thought- provoking problems. Besides, people who like sports could choose the books talking about football match or basketball match, so that they could have common topics to talk with their friends. Thus, on condition that people can know the books that another person likes, they will learn about the interests of a person.

In addition, knowing what is the person’s favorite book is conducive to learning about the working field of the person. Due to the fierce competition in modern society, more and more people are likely to enhance their ability to benefit their career by reading some books related to their fields, so that they would become more proficient in their field and get better position in the company. And people from all walks of life choose different kinds of books. In business field, people are more likely to read books about business aspects such as: management, economics, e-commerce and so on. And people who come from the field of law prefer to read judicial books, thus having deep understanding of fairness and justice to maintain the social stability. What’s more, in order to update teaching theory and accumulate abundant experience, it is a good method for teachers to read books to gain what they need. Obviously, people can learn another person’s working field by using this way.

From what has been discussed above, I draw a conclusion that people can learn another person by reading the books the another person likes.