Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: One can learn a lot about another person from the books and the movies that the person likes.

Friends, in some ways, determine the live we live in, and we naturally choose them carefully. Learning about one person is the first step to make a friend with him or her, yet people do have different view about how to judge one person at the first time we meet. Some claim that from the books and the movies he or she likes, we could know a lot about one person. However, I hold a opposite opinion about such statement. We cannot judge one person only from his or her preference like books or movies.

Only from the books or the movies, we are likely to make wrong judgement. One person might have a wide range of preferences. My sister here is a good case in point. She likes to watch science fiction movies, which seems that she might be very interested in science and technology and she might be very good at math or physics. However, the real situation is totally opposite. She hates math as well as physics but is fond of literature. Therefore, just from the movies she likes, we can hardly image that literature is her favorite.

Some people read certain books or watch specific movies not because of their preference, but because they have to finish some tasks, thus, we are unlikely to gain their characteristics or personalities just from these materials. For example, when I was in the university in the first year, I was asked by my teacher in the literature class to read a poem written by Lu Xun, one of the most famous writers in our country, and then write my opinions towards. I was totally frustrated, for I hate literature extremely and I can never understanding the meaning of the writers. However, I have no choice but to do it. At first, many of my new classmates consider me as a fan of literature, but gradually they realized that I was so bad on literature and so good at math and science.

Therefore, if you want to make friends with someone, knowing what he or she likes to watch or read is not enough.