Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the characteristics of successful leaders is the sense of responsibility for accepting their mistakes.

As the most influential person in any group and possessing of a degree of control unobtainable by other members, leaders are always under scrutiny with regard to their attributes, traits and methods of tackling hurdles thrown their way in achieving a common objective together with their subordinates. One such characteristic, which is the main point of contention in this essay, is the capacity for criticism and being able to build upon one’s shortcomings. In my opinion, this very ability is, definitively, the most essential adjective for a leader to have.

The criteria with which leaders are chosen, naturally contain flexibility on a professional level due to the fact that the head of a group is always required to consistently revise the work accomplished individually and collectively in order to make sure that the end result is of the utmost quality. Take for example a stubborn manager at a forensics laboratory, who will simply not accept any and all complaints thrown his/her way regarding the handling of submitted evidence. Containment hazards due to this stubbornness may result in tampering of sensitive material crucial in solving a case, and thus something as easy as admitting violations of basic sanitary and safety procedures results in sabotage of the whole group. Indeed, an overly conservative leader can bring down everyone alongside the standard for their goal.

Secondly, accepting one’s mistakes, regardless of their position in a group’s hierarchy, has led to improvements of the results attained by said person. In other words, not only is this characteristic required so as to make sure a blunder or worse, potential disaster is avoided, it is also essential in making sure the end result reach the peaks of standard set by those who will judge the work. Two head mechanics in a factory might be able to assemble the same car but the one who used his/her team’s constructive criticism will have achieved a higher quality end product in the form of a vehicle that is well-rounded in all aspects resulting from different members weighing in and helping the manager realize their mistake as well as the manager being accepting of this critique. Inevitably, this aspect of a leader results in improvement for every individual for which they have a responsibility.

In conclusion, this characteristic is one of the first points we here from history’s greatest leaders; all unique visionaries have had this aspect engraved in their personality. Therefore, to understand how important this trait is, we need only look at history.