TOPIC: People in society work in many different settings, and for a variety of reasons. What do you think is the main reason why people have jobs?

• to feel happier about their lives

• to save money for the future

• to develop new skills

Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

To fully discuss and ponder the function of work as a societal and personal concept is a fairly classical problem in philosophical texts; one in which a wide array of reasons are given as to why individuals choose to continue to work the way they do. In this essay, I shall explain why I presume the predominant driving factor of workers to be monetary gain for the improvement of their future lives, a motivation which is supported by the fundamental idea of wage and the undeniably immense influence of money over aspects of everyone’s lives.

The ideological foundation of work is to ensure the participation of every member in building and improving societies; but this assignment also begets an expectation from workers: to be compensated in a meaningful way. In order for people with jobs to be motivated to keep their occupations and thus retain order in a society, they expect the government (or the private entity they work for) to pay them a tangible currency with which they and their families can thrive in the present and in the future. Thus, while developing new skills and general contentment are undoubtedly important, they are not essential and what ultimately drives the average worker, because of the intrinsic nature of the relationship between them and their governing bodies, is money. Some familiar examples are the numerous worker strikes that occur everywhere around the world, where the main reason for said strikes can be essentially boiled down to insufficient pay or circumstances relevant to inadequate compensation.

The next reason ties in with the previous; the inherent value of money versus other factors that may decide what workers choose to do. It is a familiar reality that every economy is ultimately fueled by money, and the main objective of any corporation that wishes to be successful, should be to generate as much income as possible. Workers, then, see the main point of working altogether as making enough money to grow themselves and their families. As stated previously, happiness and passion are secondary due to fact that you cannot buy necessary goods with passion and happiness. The drive to make money above all else is so high that we see it overriding any and all other expectations; the medical profession for instance, is a prolific and prestigious field simply because of how much capital one can generate by being employed in said field, an it is due to this that we see an influx of students yearning to become doctors in hopes of having their most expensive dreams come to fruition.

As a conclusion, I would like to reiterate that while there may be other driving factors behind career choices, money always comes out on top; because of societal structures and the natural value money possesses in every economical system.