Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the rapid development of the media, celebrities can spread their thoughts much more easily. But different people might have different attitude towards it. Some argues that the viewpoints from celebrities are more important to youngsters than to the elderly. Personally, I agree with this opinion, especially considering young people\'s pursuit of the trend and their easily-changing minds.

To begin with, opinions from celebrities are valued more by youngsters because they are more interested in pursuing trends than the elderly. Young people are naturally more active and energetic than older people, which makes them follow the trend much closer. Generally speaking, it is famous entertainers and athletes that lead the trend, so it is no wonder that young people see their opinions higher and think these opinions important. Take my little cousin Tom as an example. He is a super fan of LeBron James, a famous basketball player. Tom admires LBJ so much that he would not miss any report of him as well as keep all LBJ\'s words in mind. What LBJ says really has a great influence on him. Once LBJ showed his angry attitude towards NBA league\'s policy of lowering the limitation of salaries, Tom got this immediately and acted just as angry as LBJ, saying that he would not watch NBA any more. However, several days later LBJ changed his attitude by saying he realized the correctness of this decision. As a result, Tom also changed his mind and got back to watch NBA\'s match as before. From Tom\'s behavior, it is obvious that famous people\'s opinions are accepted by youngsters more smoothly, which proves the importance.

Furthermore, young people\'s minds are easier to change, thus they would be more likely to be influenced by someone they admire than older people do. Since the values of young people are still immature, they will inevitably be re-shaped by someone they like. For instance, there are many reports saying that a certain young boy tried to abuse drugs such as marijuana in order to imitate a famous person who did this before. The boy might be totally unconcious about the consequence of using drugs, he just thought this was a cool stuff because the famous person liked it. In contrast, people who are older are not likely to blindly follow this because they have the correct idea about what is reasonable and what is not.

In a nutshell, from all these factors, I strongly believe that celebrities\' opinions are of more importance to youngsters than to older people.