Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the current modern world in which we are living, financial and economical issues have an important role in every individual’s life. While many people assert that it is essential for kids to become familiar with money management at lower ages, others believe otherwise and think that children should not be forced to learn financial concepts. I strongly support the former idea for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that children have fresh minds and they are more enthusiastic to learn new lessons in comparison with adults. Since at this age they are not getting involved with various problems of life and their main task is studying, they can become familiar with the foundation of financial concepts and learn different economic tricks. Besides, when kids start this work at a lower age, they would have enough time for practicing and increasing their financial knowledge. For instance, unfortunately, my older brother is an engineer who did not learn economic concepts in his childhood. Due to a lack of enough knowledge in the financial field, he got into trouble in his job, and in the last situation, his construction company got bankrupted. He wish he could learn these concepts when he was younger and had enough time to practice his economic lessons.

Furthermore, another equally remarkable point is that learning money management and start saving money in childhood provide a situation for children to have a great amount of money when they get older. They can spend this money on some significant works like paying their university tuition, wedding ceremony costs, buying a house, or whatever they want and it is a great help for becoming independent. As a case in point, I have to mention my best friend who started saving a part of his pocket money when he was just ten years old. At the age of 21, he used his childhood investment for starting his own startup. Now, he is one of the famous people in the field of building mobile applications. He always mentions in all of his interviews that he never thought as a kid that those small parts of money which he was saving would be one of the keys to his success in the future.

By taking into account all the above reasons, I believe that children should learn money management in their childhood. It is because not only do they have fresh minds and are ready to learn these concepts faster than adults, but they also can save much more money and use it in their future life.