Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? “Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today’s world.” Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

Most people agree that modern technology affects society in many different ways. In my opinion, I believe that access to the Internet is enormously beneficial to both individuals and communities as a whole. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, utilizing the Internet makes people everywhere exposure to education over the world. That is showed that people can attend any courses which they want to learn through the internet instead of going to this place to study. It helps them save time and money. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. At the end of my university year, I did my thesis. To do it, I must use R software to process my data. Unfortunately, this is new software, and so not many books which teach about it in my country. But thanks to the internet, I took an R course on Coursera website. It gives me a basic understanding of this software and can use it to complete my thesis. After graduating, I enrolled in a more intensive online course on R to master about it. This example demonstrates how the Internet helps to enhance people’s knowledge readily.

Secondly, the internet has made it easy for people to communicate with others from distant countries, ergo it is cheap and convenient. That is done through some software such as Skype, Facetime or Zoom. For instance, my boyfriend has studied in the United State of America for five years, and I live in Vietnam now. Vietnam is very far from the US, hence we can only see each other every 6 months. That hinders the maintenance of love. However, the internet helps us interact and share our mini-story with each other by talking in Facetime. It helps to foster our love.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the Internet has a positive effect on our lives. This is because of the vast source of knowledge that it brings and due to its ability to connect people around the world.