Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today’s world.

Always, humans are seeking ways to have a better life. Without a doubt, the internet is one of the most important breakthroughs which have had an affirmative impact on our society. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the internet has caused the rapid growth of science and technology in the last century. Obviously, it is the most important factor in conveying knowledge throughout the world at the highest possible speed, which means more people around the world than the past can study new achievements and contribute to it. The development of one of the most pervasive operating systems, Linux, is a compelling example of my reason. In the 90s, one of the computer science students of the University of Helsinki, Linus Torvalds, began to build an operating system during his course. After some advancements, he decided to share his initial operating system with professionals around the world to improve his work so, he posted the source code of his project through the email. Therefore without the services that the internet has created, Linux could never be the prominent operating system. Nowadays, the Linux operating system has a key role in the computer industry and it was not happening but with the widespread use of the internet.

Secondly, in recent years, the internet facilitates human communications by connecting far people. Social networks, emails, video streaming, and skype are services that are provided by the internet help people to communicate with each other in many ways such as sharing images, videos, and video or voice calling. Suppose a situation that a mother and her son are living too far from together. if they want to see each other, they must go through long-distance and it needs too much time and energy. But, in the presence of the internet, they can see each other just by a few clicks in the skype app. Another benefit of the internet in our society is sending a message in an affordable manner which means people can use email to sending their message instead of the past arduous methods. For instance, about 30 years ago, people used to write their message on a piece of paper with personal information then, put it in an envelop and go to the post station to post the letter. After several days, the letter delivered to the receiver, and this process repeated for responding to the letter. All of this process waste too much time and energy. But, in today’s world the widespread use of the internet simplify this process in a few minutes.

In conclusion, I strongly believe the use of services which are provided by the internet has amazing influences on people's lives. This is because science and technology can spread out around the world through the internet and because people communicate with each other in a simple way across the internet.