Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

One of the main reasons that people work is to secure their futures. Was it easier for past generations to choose a prosperous career? In my opinion, in the past, predicting a successful business was quite easier than today.

The first reason why I believe that it was easier to plan a successful job in the past than today is lack of competition. Companies in the past did not have to put a great effort in their products since there were no tough competitors. For example, five decades ago, if a woman needed a purse, she would simply visit the only store in town and buy whatever the store offers. The fact that there were no other shops to compete with the bags shop, made it easier for the business to be profitable. In contrast, nowadays, it is not easy to be successful because there are numerous numbers of shops that selling the same products. As a result, shops must do their best to gain customers in order to beat other competitors.

Secondly, in our grandparent’s generation, people had the most basic life and, they did not have much. Accordingly, businessmen were easily able to spot what are individuals missing and provide them with it. For example, my grandfather once told me that when he was eighteen years old, a new phone store had been opened in their town. The owner of the store knew that his business would be a hit since people at that time were not developed enough and knew little about phones. At first people in his town were not sure whether it was a wise idea to buy them or not. However, after a while, majority of residents including my grandfather purchased a phone. It was easy for the owner to gain a lot of profits because he provided people with something completely new to them.

These examples demonstrate that it was easier in the past to plan for a prosperous job. Not only because there was no competition at that time, but also, people were simple.