Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decesions about their own lives.

As a result of growing nature of today's world, people, especially younger people have undergone substantial changes mentally and intellectually. While some people believe that youngsters are more dependent on their parents to make decisions than they were before, others hold the opinion that young people are now better capable to decide about their lives, independently from their parents. I, personally agree with the latter group, and I have a couple of reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following essay.

First, being provided with better and more advanced educational system than the past, adolescents are better able to make proper decisions about their lives. In fact, in the past, children and younger people didn't learn much from their schools or universities. However, nowadays, with professional teaching methods being exploited in schools, young people can easily learn how to make important decisions in their lives. My personal example illustrates this. When I was at middle school, all students had to participate in a lot of workshops in which we learned how to determine our issues in life, and cope with our problems. As a result, I didn't need any help from my parents in solving most of my problems, making me more independent in my life.

Second, in today's advanced world, there are lots of useful resources available for young people to make decisions for their lives. in the past, parents were the only ones that youngsters could lie on them. In contrast, today, a lot more resources like the internet are available for young people to use filled with plenty of helpful information. For instance, when I was at the university, I worked in a cafe, and I collected some money. I didn't know how to use that money efficiently, so I used internet, and visited some websites to get help. I read other people's opinion and experiences of the ways they had used their money. Consequently, I was able to make the best decision about my money with the help of that information, and used the money to buy some stocks. Now I have a lot more money resulted from the amount I invested in stocks. This example shows that youngsters have access to many useful recourses rather than their parents to make good decisions.

Ultimately, I strongly believe that young people are better capable of making decisions for their lives than they were in the past. I feel this way because, nowadays, adolescents are taught with much more advanced academic methods, and they are able to use a lot of information from other resources like internet than only their parents.