Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take at least one class that teaches the culture of a country other than their own.

Nowadays, with the diversity of lifestyles and behavior among people of different countries, it is worth taking time and learning about other countries' cultures in order to widen our horizons. In this regard, some believe that students should be forced to take some courses related to other countries' cultures, while others think this is not necessary. I, personally agree with the latter group, and I have a couple of reasons on which I will elaborate in the following essay.

First, some students have nothing to do with these social classes, and mandatory attendance in these classes just take their precious time that could be used for something more beneficial . In fact, it has been proved that students don't listen carefully to course material taught in classes they are not interested in. As a result, their time will be wasted in the class. However, if they weren't forced to attend these classes, they would use their time on something more useful. My personal example demonstrates this. About four years ago, when I was studying chemical engineering at university, we had to take a society-related course called "East Culture". I wanted to be a good engineer and taking this course that was totally irrelevant to my field would not help in any aspect of my studies. Thus, I spoke to our undergraduate dean and he agreed to make the course elective. So I could use the time that I was supposed to waste in this class, and as a result, I could improve my skills in my preferred field. This example shows that classes like the ones that teach the culture of another country, should not be necessary to take for all students.

Second, the culture of a country except from our own country can't be understood by just attending a relevant class at university. In fact, the culture of a country is composed of its people's behavior and their attitude toward life. Thus, the culture of a society is something that should be experienced by foreign people to be understood. People must see and feel the atmosphere of a country in order to conceive their culture, so attending classes to learn other countries' culture is not that helpful. My personal experience illuminates this fact. When I was ten years old, my family planned to go to Saudi Arabia. I had learned about the culture of the Arab people in school, and I assumed that I knew a lot about Arab people. However, when we arrived there, I saw plenty of surprising events and behaviors that I could not imagine before actually see them with my eyes. This shows that students cannot learn sufficiently about the culture of a country by just taking related classes, so making a requirement to attend these classes will not be effective.

To sum up, I disagree with the idea that all students should necessarily attend classes for learning about other countries' cultures. This is because some students are not interested in these classes, and their time will be wasted, and also learning a culture by just attending a class is not possible.