Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.

When it comes to the question whether it's more beneficial to travel internationally or domestically, everyone will have their own answer given their individual characteristics such as their needs, interests, and budget. From my perspective, given same amount of travel time and budget, I deem I can benefit more from travelling in my own countries. I will detail my reasoning as follows.

The most critical reason is time. As a traveler, I would prefer spending more time exploring my destination rather than getting stuck at the security checkpoint, sitting in the airplane, and waiting in a long queue at the custom, which are often associated with international travel. For example, if I have a week of vacation, instead of spending 2 days on the way, I could choose a destination that may only take me couple hours to get there that means I have 1 more extra vacation day.

Secondly, more time at the destination enables me to explore and interact with the people and surroundings more. I personally prefer a more in depth traveling experience than a superficial glance of tourist attractions. International trip is often meticulously organized because of the language barriers. In comparison, as I travel in my own country, I can freely tour around my destination, chatting to local people, enjoy the street food that makes the trip a lot more interesting.

Lastly, international travel can cost travelers significantly more comparing to a domestic one. Admittedly, cost of a trip is often determined personal choice and preference but a lot fees, such as visa and currency exchange, are often inevitable. In addition, to save money in another unknown country can be a lot more challenging.

In all, despite the fact that international travel may leave me an exciting memory, as a traveler I feel I benefit more from traveling within the country when considering time, money and travel experience.