Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples

Travel in your own country is a wonderful experience. You can interact with the beautiful that surround you and make friends close home. You can grow as a human being and discover something new at the same time. Traveling your own nation is more beneficial that going outside your land. I agree with this statement because if money and safety are your priorities, then domestic travel can mitigate the inconvenience of long flights, a potential language barrier and any financial difficulty you might encounter in your trip.

First of all, one of the advantages you can have is getting to know your history and your heritage more in deep. By doing so you will have the possibility to know your culture. Additionally, your cultural background will be widely expanded. I remember the first time I visited New York. What a remarkable experience I had. My family and I traveled with the companion of a guide to every landmark. We also stayed at a cousin’s house, so we were able to visit her and save money. In contrast, if you decide to travel abroad you must spend money buying airplane tickets and reserving the cheapest hotels if you want to save. This could be very inconvenient.

Secondly, visiting your country have more advantages. For example, no need to worry about the language barrier since it is your own language. This allow you to perfectly communicate during your trip. You can meet new friends, enjoy a movie, visit museums, parks. You can also drive your own car, so you can travel for less. I have a colleague at work who went to China a couple of years ago. He was so stressed and afraid of the new language that decided to take an entry level course before engaging in his trip. As a result, he had to spend extra money buying plane ticket and new clothes because his trip was during winter time, using all his savings.

Finally, if you have a busy schedule, you can fit your trip by combining long weekends and holidays. Very convenient. You can visit family and friends. Another advantage; no need of extra vaccinations since you are not traveling abroad. For example, last year during thanksgiving weekend I was able to combine my vacation days with the holiday. We ended it up with almost a week free, which we used to enjoy with our family in California. We were very grateful for that opportunity. These simple things are easy to accomplish when you make plans accordingly and can make your destination easy and more enjoyable, which might inspire you to make future trips. This is another advantage versus traveling outside.

To conclude, I firmly agree that traveling in your own country instead visiting a foreign destination is better. People can benefit more when travelling in their own country because it is safe, affordable and brings the opportunity to stay in touch with family and friends. I consider this opportunity very rewarming.