Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All children should be required to take a foreign language class from the time they start school until they begin university. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is always been a debate, especially among parents, on whether children should take a foreign language class throughout their entire school life. While some parents believe this could be of great advantage, others may feel reluctant. I believe this opportunity of learning a different language may influence children’s personal, social and cultural development. Learning something new can be fun and challenge. Children are fresh starters. I firmly agree with the statement above for three mainly reasons.

Firstly, it is said that the best time to learn a new language, other than your mother tongue, is when you are a child. Kids are passionate and smart, full of energy and enthusiasm. Moreover, children don’t need to worry about nothing but the school. I remember when I came to this country some years ago with my two children. As soon as they start the school they begin to speak English. It was like an explosion and I realized that one night when I heard my son dreaming in english. For a moment a felt scared and concerned, but quickly understood. I said to myself: you must learn english too. You need to find a way. This was a crucial moment in my live, but I took advantage from that.

Secondly, learn another language means more possibilities and opportunities in life. If children can assimilate another language, by the time of graduation they may speak it perfectly well. Perhaps by that time they may know two or three of them. This opportunity is unique and only occur one time in life, when you are a child. Additionally, speaking more than one language can provides better career choices and help you to engage in a better job. Employers love it. Knowing another language will result in better understanding of different cultures. You can travel abroad to different destinations and make new friends.

Finally, the capacity of learn a new language can enhance your communication skills and broaden your knowledge. It can boost your memory and enhance the ability to multi-task. With the rapidly increase of global economy, speaking more than one language has become essential. You can make connections which can build your self-confidence. People who speak various language are smarter and more creative. While in school, this opportunity can raise your test scores and improve your first language at the same time. If you have this chance, don’t throw it away.

To conclude, I totally approve the idea of learning a foreign language since the beginning of school life. Keep it longer can be a positive and rewarming experience. By doing this you can boost your brain, empower your knowledge and develop your intellectual capacities.