Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much money on clothing to improve their appearance.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Although some people accede with the belief that people are cautious about their expenditure on clothes, I personally argue that individuals tend to spend good amount of money on buying clothes to enhance their appearance for few reasons. I will substantiate my position on the subsequent paragraphs.

The foremost reason why I am in support with this argument is: the growing peer to peer competition with the rise in acitivity has influenced the peoples, specifically youths, to change their dress frequently. For the supporting example one need no look further that my brothers current life. My brother, at his teen age, currently studying in the high-school level, is highly influenced by his friends dressing codes. As a result, he constantly put a demand forward infront of my parents or towards me to buy newly fashionable clothes. The main reason for this is: he has a strong temptation to flaunt his new cloth infront of his friends. Consequently, the parents have to shop new clothes for him in lesser time gap which admittedly increases the expenditure.

Another subtle reason that strengthens my position is that different programs requires different dress codes which mandates the people to invest money on different types of clothes. The evident example can be seen in my 15-day schedule back a month. In those 15-days, I participated in four major programs-- presentation on my research, marriage ceremony of my friend, funeral of friends father, and friends get-together. For the each of these programs, I had to wear different dresses. To illustrate, I wore formal clothing (shirt, pants, tie, and coat) for presentation, typical Nepali dress (called as "Daura Surwal"), for marriage ceremony, simple plain dress for funeral, and finally casual wears for friends party. Had there been a single dress facility, I would not have spend so much on the shopping of cloths.

The influence due to individuals role models is another reason that substantiates my position. The flim industry, nowadays, has been a fashion hub with each movies have diverse designs of clothings for every individuals who are part of it. Further, the normal people who idolize such actors or actresses are highly motivate to copy their dressing study. Consequently, they will shell out the capital to buy such clothings. For instance, my cousin, a 8-year-old boy, idolize Mr. Hrithik Roshan, a popular actor in bollywood movies. When his superhero movies title as Krish released, his urge to buy the extraoridnarily designed superhero dress got over his head. Further, Mr. Hrithik was seen in different avatar with simple casual clothes in another movie; but my cousin was enticed my his looks, specially dress, so he demanded to buy him that also. Thus, the idol impact on the people has a great role to spend money in purchasing clothes.

Taking into account of all the above-mention reasons, I strongly affirm that the people spend additional sum of money in buying clothes due to peer to peer competition, program requirements, and influence of their idols.