Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyments - doing things they like to do - rather than things they should.

People work a lot every day, trying to earn a living and becoming so tired that all they have time for is sleep. But does humanity really spend most of its life in labour rather than on parties? I personally believe that technical progress and equal rights made free time and personal enjoyments more accessible and priority.

To begin with, it is no doubt that at the beginning of the 20th century, the world went through global changes. Machines and robots have replaced manual labor, making life easier for millions of housewives and factory workers, businessmen and entrepreneurs. Now everyone, if desired, no longer requires a dishwasher or a washing machine, when instead of cleaning a house it is more amusing to watch a TV . Moreover, phone booths have turned into iPhones, using which people no longer need to go several kilometers into the city. There are many similar examples, but the most catchy for me is a period when my grandfather replaced his old printing equipment with a new one, which encouraged him to start playing tennis as he began spending less time in the office. Thus, the hours for work and leisure have been balanced and made my grandfather reveal the life to the fullest.

Another point is that women who eventually achieved equality have consolidated the norm to have a well-paid job, which in many ways relieves the burden from men. Now the money goes to the family from two persons, and household duties are also fair divided. My parents lives by this principle: my father does not waste a minute to help my mother looking after the kids and cooking dinner. This way, they free up few hours and go to meet their friends. Accordingly, other families also no longer need to spend a lot of time for the duties, which society once considered a base.

To sum up, people started doing their hobbies and interests, rather than responsibilities. But there is an explanation, which consists in simpler and improved techniques, as well as changed social norms that have expanded the scope of opportunities for women and men.