Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without a shadow of a doubt, infrastructures play an integral role in developing a nation either by provding services to people or by enabaling an economy to flourish. Since the construction and operation of different kinds of infrustructures required a vast amount of money, the point here is to devote the government's budget to the things that can have more positive implications on society. In this line of thought, comparing the Internet with other infrastructures, I firmly believe that the former is much more important than the latter. In what follows I will elaborate on my reasons and explain on what rationale my perspective is based on.

The first and foremost reason is that the Internet can provide a huge amount of learning opportunities for people, which neither physical nor soft infrustructures will ever be able to do such a thing in that scale. Clearly, a government can not make any substantial progress in the country, unless it nurture its people to have higher ratio of educated and ingenous persons. More to the point, if we want to improve the life quality of our people, we should have wise people who are able to contribute to the development of the country. The case of Malaysia is a compelling example of this. Being stuck in several challenges, Malaysian authorities were unable to overcome their problems. This was a constant issue until the government decided to change its priorities. Actually, they designated more budget for the public technologies, more pointedly for the Internet. Consequently, after a few years, they saw the signals of promotion in the country. Now it is one of the leading countries in the Technology, all thanks to the widespread use of the Internet.

The second pivotal vindicating reason is that the Internet will ease the connection of people with foreign people that is very critical for having international businesses. While the people start to make interaction with people of other countries and mostly with neighbouring countries, they will be able to cover their needs from resources of those countries. This will also generate a shocking amount of synergy, which will subsequently offer economy of scale and scope. All of these aftereffects will help the economy to flourish.

Furthermore, I think governments have already spent a great amount of money for other traditional services, such as dams, terminals and etc. Now it is the time to alter the focus on modern services like the Internet.

To put it in a nutshell, I am of the opinion that the public sector should subsidized the Internet in order to offer free services to people. This is mostly because it will have many positive effects on the community.