Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is hard to deny that infrastructure is one of the most important factor for citizens’ daily life, and such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the idea that governments should still spend money to improve public transportation rather than to improve Internet access. However, this statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies and it should be examined meticulously. As far as efficiency, economy, development are concerned, I strongly hold that it is more important for governments to spend money improving Internet access.

First and foremost, developing Internet access is a more effective way to improve the efficiency of our society, as Internet almost involves in every aspect of people’s social life, including work, study, and entertainment. If the situation of Internet access get improved and provide steady internet connection, workers can use it to hold online conference and students can use it to watch courses from the websites. Therefore, people save the time from commuting to do other things that are more meaningful and productive, forming a synergy to increase efficiency of the whole society.

Furthermore, the fact that poor Internet access leads to huge economy loss indicates that governments should invest more money to improve Internet access. Take the case of The Rainbow Company in Shanghai, which earns revenue mainly by mining bitcoin on the internet. There was a time when the internet access suddenly broke down in the avenue where the company is located, all of their work were forced to pause and wait for the access to recover. During the time the government fixing Internet wire and other facilities, the company has a loss of 289 million RMB. Had it not been for the internet crackdown, the Rainbow Company would never suffer such a huge loss.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that public transportation is more important because people will use it everyday. Ironically, the public transportation systems nowadays are actually well-established and it is convenient enough for us to travel from one place in the city to another. In comparison, the internet systems are not stable yet, which need more attention and budget from governments.

In a nutshell, I maintain that spending money on Internet access is a more crucial task for governments. Admittedly, as my favorite quote goes, “as long as the reason of man continues fallible, different opinions will be formed”, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.