Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It's hard to deny that with the development of new media such as movies and televisions, younger generations are having more and more chanels to gain knowledge, and such a fact leads to impressionable people to generate the opinion that these kinds of media have more positive effects on young people. However, this idea suffers from both factual and logical fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as effevtiveness, civilization and education are concerned, I strongly hold that movies and televisions have more negative impacts on the behavior of young people than positive ones.

First and foremost, movies and televisions sharply decrease the effectiveness of younger citizens in our society, as many of them become addicted to their favorite movie series and TV shows. Movies and televisions are always so intriguing that people can't stop watching it. As a result, they may spend hours and hours staring at the screen, wasting the time that should have been spent on more productive activities such as doing aerobics or focusing on their school work. What's more, when watching these shows, young people always lay back on the sofa, which make them become weak physically.

Furthermore, the fact that many young people especially adolecents are likely to imitate bad behavior in the movies or televisions indicates that such media is having growing negative effects. Take the case of my cousin Tom, an ordinary freshman in the university, he became violent after watching a popular soap opera recently. In that show, heroine comes from a poor family and earns his livelihood by having fight with others, gradually becoming a wealthy boss. My cousin is too naive to have the ability of telling right from wrong, so he sees the fictious character as his role models and has fights with his classmates. As a result, he got hurt in the disorder and received punishment from school. Had it not been for being exposed to the TV series, Tom would never end up this way.

Nevertheless, a voice may arise that movies and televisions provide effective resources for people to learn knowledge in certain fileds, such as practicing oral english by watching The Friends. Ironically, there're many more efficient way(e.g. school libraries, online courses, professional databases) to gain knowledge, so learning from entertainment is actually an excuse of laziness from my point of view.

In a nutshell, I maintain that movies and television have more negative influences than positive influences on the behavior of young people. Admittedly, as my favorite saying goes, as long as the reason of man continues fallible, different opinions will be formed, and some people may oppose my ideas. However, I believe my opponents will compromise after being exposed to my article.