Do you agree or disagree with the following statement : Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problem to the public.

In the recent decades, we are stepping into the Information Age by the proliferation of the mass media. However, it seems to me that with the information explosion, the accuracy of the information are less emphasized than before and the decline in its importance might wreak havoc on the whole society.

To begin with, pursuing exact and accurate information has been a declining trend. This is due to the fact that we are surrounded with a large amount of information from all kinds of media, being saturated with today's news, recent political events, stock market trends and so on. Therefore, we are left with too little time to even look through them all, not to mention to have a minute speculating about whether the media is revealing the accurate information or not. For instance, as university students, we have a hectic schedule, busying with academic work and social activities, with not much time left to care about what is happening out of the campus right now. Even if when we squeeze our time to look through the news and events on the Internet, we could hardly take the accuracy of the information into consideration, instead, trusting these news and then focusing back on the school work is a more efficient way for us to rewind. Therefore, being awash with exploded information, we have no choice but to rely on the media, leaving behind its correctness.

On the other hand, this phenomenon might pose threat on the development of the society as a whole. Too often, the mass media is controlled by some interest parties, so that they may not be revealing the truth. Not concerning about the accuracy, people may be misled by the information presented in the media. In terms of the economic field, some media just give some unreliable information about the trend of the stocks ruthlessly so as to gain tremendous profits. People who take a trust in them might be afraid of the crazy stock market they are facing and invest in a not reasonable way, contributing to the probability that the entity economy might be at stake. In terms of the politics field, during the Presidential Election in the USA, people were quite convinced that Secretary Hilary would win the competition, since all the media were talking about how her debate were more persuasive and how her policies were wiser. However, thousands of people dropped their jaws when it turned out that Trump has become the president and were outrageous. It was at that time that they realized that the media might be misleading about the voting trend, which actually affected their voting choice. As a result, the society might encounter insurmountable setbacks due to the fact that people are not being passionate about the truth of the information on the media.

Hereby I have made myself quite clear: Since people are careless about the accuracy of the media, the whole society might be under threats in all sorts of fields.