Which way do you think is the best for a student to make new friends. a. joining a sports team, b. participating in community activities, c. traveling.

As a student, friends play a vital role in our lives since they provide us with emotional consolation and social support. But what on earth is the best way to make friends at the first stage? As far as I am concerned, students who take part in a sports team are more likely to make new friends readily and establish genuine friendships.

To begin with, it is the sports team that guarantees us a chance to gain insight into teamwork, giving rise to more possibilities to make a bunch of friends in our orbit. As we would all know, unless every team member knows the advantages and drawbacks of each other clearly and cooperate efficiently with each other, the team could hardly win. This means that when training for sports, we are able to get to know others thoroughly and comprehensively, and we are obliged to work as a team. For instance, during my sophomore year, I joined the baseball team in my college. Trained in a weekly basis, though I had been totally a stranger to anyone in the team before, I started hanging out with my teammates just a couple of weeks later, since I got to know everyone's personality and learned to cooperate with them to optimize the team efficiency. On the other hand, as victory is highly valued by everyone in the sports team, team players have a common goal which builds up to the team spirits. According to reliable sources of experimental results released by Psychological Science, the more cohesive the team is, the more intimate the team player are. As a result, joining a sports team boosts the bonds with other team players, and this contributes to the enlarging of our friends circle.

Opponents may argue that community activities and traveling also enhance our exposure to people and thus bring about the opportunity to make friends. However, plausible as it seems, this idea could be proved to be unconvincing by further analysis. Concerning the participation of community activities, the fact is that students are usually so overwhelmed by academics, school associations and so on that they could hardly take part in the community activities in a regular basis. My roommate once wanted to meet some foreign friends through volunteering in some community work, but ended up in despair due to the fact that everyone had to strive for school and endeavor to do activities in the school clubs so most of them never showed up again. Left with little time to put community activities into their schedule, this approach does not seem to favor the struggling students.

As for the travelling, there might be some truth in it, but the thing is that conflicts take place all the times during a trip. Even travelling with besties, we tend to quarrel with them about where to live, the restaurants for today's lunch, choice between the cultural heritages and modern architectures. Under circumstance like that, instead of making new friends, we may even terminate the relationship with others owing to constant fighting and divergent thoughts.

Hereby I have made myself quite clear: among the three approaches of making new friends, I would definitely prioritize getting involved in a sports team over the two other ways.