Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important

characteristics for a politician or leader is good communication ability.

What on earth matters most for a political leader? Is proficient communicating skills the premier ability required? As far as I am concerned, despite its significance for politicians, it is far from being the most vital one.

Admittedly, it is true that with an advantage on talking and communicating, the politician may have an edge on maintaining relationships and boosting bonds with other countries. For instance, without the remarkable speeches and convincing debating, Obama could hardly be elected as the president. After becoming a president, it was his distinguished speech abilities and interpersonal skills that eased the intense diplomatic relationship with China, since he visited China in person and built congenial values upon some sensitive problems with China, always ending up the conversations with a smile on Chairman Xi’s face. Therefore, being well-acquainted with communicating poses positive influences on the work of politicians.

However, let’s not jump to the conclusion too fast. In terms of political field, the policies and regulations that the political leaders implement on the society seem to weigh far more than the communication. Since there are thousands of talents that could help translate or deliver the contents of the speeches and conversations, as long as politicians have the main idea of what policies to institute and what rules he tend to establish, the output of those contents could not be a big worry, as it could be guaranteed by the elites. Take one of China’s political leaders, Teng Siao-Peng, as an example. Although he had an accent, which means that he could only talk in local dialect, what he has done was to change the entire economic fundamental structure. More importantly, his policies about endowing companies the right to develop independently and encouraging connections with other countries produce profound and thorough influences on every corner of the society. In conclusion, politicians do not necessarily have to be equipped with outstanding communication skills, in contrast, how ingenious and beneficial their implements are seems to contribute more to a political leader’s success.

Hereby I have made myself quite clear: imperative communication ability could be great merits for politicians, but it definitely is not the most determinant one.