Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is not a secret that people consider their future job as something that they are going to be successful at it. As far as I am concerned, study hard at school overcomes the importance of social skills. I will elaborate on my reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, many careers, especially those are related to science do not require a high level of people skills, which means it is more reasonable to put effort into a hard study in school. Successful occupation in many fields depends on the expertise of the person. In addition, the knowledge needed for a job could not be obtained without hard work and dedication. For example, having a lifetime job as a tenured professor in Neurobiology is a desirable occupation in the academic area. An eminent neuroscientist should be highly educated and experienced to possess an excellent position as a chair professor in a well-known university. In another word, it does not matter how she is dealing with her colleagues, as long as her research leads to a breakthrough in science, and elevates the university’s credit. This situation could be applied in several successful jobs.

Furthermore, by being assiduous at school, the person will be more competent and competitive in the job market, because he has the specialization for high-ranked positions. In the modern era, technological advances are happening rapidly, and the demand for skillfulness beats sociability. For instance, two years ago, Amazon Company announced that they are hiring people for a Machin Learning post with a high payment. For the job requirements mentioned in the application form, there were no refers to soft skills at all. A friend of mine applied for the job and was hired, although he could not get on well with people. As a result, the more a person is skilled in his field of study, the more job opportunities are available for him.

In conclusion, I think hard study in school matters more than just being nice to people. It is because many privileged vocations do not call for social interactions, and more job opportunities are available by profound knowledge at work, which is a result of great endeavors in the school.