Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: For success in school or work, having the ability to adapt or adjust to changing conditions or circumstances is more important than having excellent knowledge of a job or a field of study.

Faced with fierce competition, many people struggle to obtain competitive edges to make themselves stand out from the crowd. Some argue that it is more significant to have to ability to adapt to changing conditions than to have excellent knowledge of a field while others hold an opposite view. In my opinion, I believe the ability to adapt to new conditions matters. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

For starters, people with the capability of adjusting to new environments learn things quickly; they are qualified for large amounts of jobs, thus enhancing their possiblity to achieve success. The experience of my friend, Julie, is a compelling model of that. She became a legal consultant after graduation. However, after entering that company, the requirements of that position changed due to the modification of the company structure. She found that the position required her to use much new knowledge in other fields like economics and accounting while she majored in law in university. To complete work tasks, she sacrificed her leisure time to learn new ideas and thoughts. Finally, she acquired all needed knowledge in a limited time, thus being appreciated by her leader and getting promoted soon. If she had not accommodated herself to the environment efficiently, she would have risked being redundant. This example shows that the ability to adapt to different conditons can provide more job opportunities and make a worker superior to other colleagues.

Besides, the trend is constantly changing. If we focus on a specific field and ignore adjusting to changing conditions, we will likely fall behind others. For example, most graduates tended to pursue positions in elite financial institutions or real estate companies to earn a high salary about 5 years ago. Nowadays, however, people crave jobs in public service departments or semi-conductor firms due to the change in subsidy policies and economy situation. If someone insists on exploring real estate field, he might find it difficult to have a satisfactory job in the grim job market. The ability to adjust to changing conditions helps us switch careers more easily when confronted with changes in demands.

Admittedly, having excellent knowledge of a job can lead us to be well prepared for a job. However, we may find us floundering when great changes take place. Therefore, we can never neglect to exercise our ability to face changes.

Based on the reasons stated above, I believe it is favourable to have the ability to adjust to changing conditions in order to live a successful life because it presents us with more options in this fast-changing world.