Which of the following people do you think need the government financial support most?

1. people over 70 years old

2. young families with children

3. people who lost their jobs

Commonly, the government makes a significant investment in providing financial support to help people make a living more easily. In my opinion, I believe people over 70 years old most need the government financial support among other groups. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

For starters, people over 70 years old lack the ability to earn a salary independently due to their deteriorating body conditons. According to a research conducted by an elite institution, most old people in this country have at least one chronic illness like diabetes. Therefore, it is necessary to provide financial support to cover their living expenses and medical treatment. If the government fails to offer subsidy to old people, they may face a decreasing expected life span.

Additionally, financially supporting old people can encourage young people to perform their duty to pay taxes and enhance the sense of security of the whole society. Nowadays, many citizens complain about their heavy tax duty because they consider many governmental programs waste of money. Meantime, many people worry about what their lives will be when they grow old and have no independent income resource. Financially supprting the old can facilitate a healthy social support system. When the public clearly see old people are carefully attended to by the government and where the governmental expenses go, their complaints will be removed and they will be willing to perform their tax obligations with the trust established on the government.

Admittedly, young families with children often struggle to have enough resource to raise their children. However, we can take other measures to assist them rather than offer financial support, which might cause young people to sit in the home and passively wait for subsidies. It is favourable to help them by offering cheap day-care service and free public education so that they can have more effort to complete work tasks and relieve the pecuniary burden of taking care of children.

Also, there are other ways to support redundant people. The government can invest in construction projects to create job opportunities, which turned out to be an efficient measure in previous condition like the Great Recession. In this way, the government can not only solve the unemployment problem but also promote the construction all over the country.

Based on the reasons stated above, we can safely conclude that people over 70 need the government financial support most. Only by providing them timely financial support can we build a stable and safe society.