Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is not a secret that the desire to achieve success is in human nature. As far as I am concerned, not all successful people go for new experiences and taking risks in their lives. I will elaborate on my reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is a dramatic fact the time people possess is limited, which makes it challenging to go for something new every time. Having that in mind, it does not seem a rational action to dedicate a valuable asset such as time to something new and risky. Successful people have invested a lot of time and energy to reach the climax of a certain field. In the path of victory, they not only have gone through difficulties, but also learned from their mistakes, which are time-consuming as well. On the other hand, there is no guaranty that attempting a new aim will lead to success again. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I was a teenager, I won the gold medal for Mathematics Olympiad. Some of my teachers were persistent to go for the gold medal in Chemistry as well. However, I knew I had to study a lot and start the subjects at the basic level, and try to be admitted at the university at the same time. As I was aware, I could not spend my time to both study Chemistry and following the university entrance, I refused to go for the medal in Chemistry.

Another key factor to remember is that most prosperous people became successful because they stayed focused on only one thing, so they finally approached victory. It is a well-known quote that: “The more you practice, the more you achieve.” This accounts for the cardinal importance of “concentration”. The biography of Thomas Edison could be an excellent example here. Edison did not overcome the challenge of the light bulbs on his first try at the experiment. He never gave up, never went for other directions and goals in his career, and at last, he did what he wanted the most: a light bulb for using electricity for everyone.

In conclusion, I believe that people who obtained an astonishing achievement in their life will not pursue brand-new objects. This is because they do not own limitless time and need to be concentrated on one task to be successful.