Do you agree or disagree with the following statement A teacher s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught Use specific reasons and support your answers with examples

Thanks to technological advances, people have greater access to a variety of knowledge. Without going to schools, they can learn new skills by researching the internet and watching tutorial videos. Considering the improved accessibility of knowledge, I believe a teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.

A teacher needs to relate to students to understand students’ interests, which allows teachers to develop students’ passion for learning. As long as the students know what they’re interested in, they are more motivated to immerse themselves in the studies. On the other hand, some students have trouble finding their true passion for learning, and they recognize learning as something to be endured to get better grades and jobs. Exposed to teachers who broaden students’ horizons, the students are more prone to be motivated to explore the diverse fields of studies.

A teacher should help students to learn what the internet and technology cannot offer. Although modern technology improved access to knowledge, the students have difficulty dealing with an abundant amount of information. To overcome this challenge, teachers need to encourage students to identify what is the purpose of learning and how to apply knowledge and skills in practice. Teachers who can relate to students are more likely to inspire students because they know how to reach out to the young and to strengthen the bonds.

Teachers can learn from students by devoting themselves to understanding students. Although the teachers seem to be wiser than students in terms of having a greater amount of knowledge and experience, the teachers also have to continue learning how the world is changing and how they should create a better future with younger people. Teachers carry an important role not only in offering knowledge for the young but also in seeking better solutions to combat the current issues faced to the society with the protagonists of the future. Since what the students are interested in reflects on some aspects of society, it is helpful for teachers to address the generation gap with the adolescents by understanding the students’ points of view.

In conclusion, I believe a teacher’s role in relating to students is more important than offering excellent knowledge of the subjects being taught. Although the students can rely on technology to acquire a wide range of knowledge, they need a real human interaction to promote their academic interests and to shape value to create future society.