Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.

I absolutely agree that teacher should be able to relate well with students than excellent knowledge of subject taught in class. To support my argument there are following reasons:

Generally, student are hesitant to ask questions to teacher and in every course structure there are certain topics which are difficult to grasp, if the teacher is capable to relate with the students condition, he will put more focus in conveying topics credentials in easy way or by giving mnemonics to understand well. When i was in 9th standard, trignometry was just introduced and every one in the class struggles with remembering values of sin,cos and tan, but, the maths instructor knows us well and gives us mnemonic to remember those values.

Another reason I believe that, being a teacher is not just about knowledge it's about transfering knowledge. I know professors in my college who are one of the best in there respective domain, but, when it comes to teaching they are very hard on students and monotonus. They use domain specific words which are not understood by students at lower level, Unability to relate with class condtions makes the subject boring and derails interest in subject.

After home most of the time students spend is with teachers. If the teacher has ability of being relatable then students can discuss the reason for stress and get some serious advice from experienced person.