Some cities think that a way to limit pollution and congestion is to tax drivers heavily who drive into the city each day but who live elsewhere. What do you think about this policy? Do you support it? Why or why not? Use specific reasons.

I have a contrasting viewpoint regarding the statement that limiting pollution and congestion is to tax drivers heavily who are not from the city. There are the following reasons for my belief:

Firstly, Property prices in the city are sky high, and ordinary salaried people can't buy a house in the town, so, they purchase property in the countryside; also some people who don't like the city lifestyle and want to be close to nature also opted to live outside the city. These people do daily up down to their offices which is mainly in the downtown area. If we tax these people, then companies will see an increment in resigning rate of employees, as paying taxes will decrease the saving of the employees, and they will try to take a job near their houses.

Secondly, the countryside has only the necessary shops but for purchasing other items people have to come to the city, if the tax were imposed then people will not come frequently to the city and decrement in the market footfall will be observed which is not at good for either business owner or government. Also, the travelers who come to visit from another country usually rent cars to explore the places around, but due to imposed taxes, they will be motivated to skip that city, which results in less foreign currency reserve, which ultimately affects the country's GDP.

Suppose, if the business capital New York city imposes tax then the revenue of city ultimately decrease as property in the city is not affordable, primarily the New York income comes from business and the recessive footfall will impact business owners.