Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Undoubtedly, since the born of man, teachers have been playing one of the most important roles in any society. People wonder whether teachers were more appreciated in the past time or not. In my opinion, teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past because they were the most educated people in society. Moreover, today, thanks to the development of technology, there are lots of information sources that will give you more information than any teacher.

First, Teachers were the most educated people in their societies. Thus, usually, a teacher had other roles too like a scientist, a doctor, etc. As a result, they had an important role in society that led them to gain more respect. On the contrary, today, most people have passed high education levels. Thus, there are many people who may be educated more than any teacher. For example, once, my grandfather told me some memories that they belong to when he was a child. He told me that they had a teacher who was the only person who was educated in their village. He wasn’t just an ordinary teacher, indeed, he was a doctor too. Everyone who had a health problem went to him and asked him for a checkup. Hence he examined them and gave them some drugs according to their disease. Thus, he was a very important valued person in that society.

Second, today, teachers were the only source of information. Whereas, today, thanks to the development of technology, people can get access to lots of information that is available for them. They can use the internet or they even can have a personal library in their smartphones or they can reach a lot of other professors by using Emails and telephone. In the past, people hadn’t any other resources and they have no choice except trusting to pieces of information that teachers told them. However, nowadays, people can search for their needs on the internet very easily. Thus, they may find a reference that refutes their teacher’s opinion. For example, once I was a student at university, there was a discussion about a physical problem among the professor and students. After several hours’ discussion, we decided to bring our evidence about that subject in the next session. Thus, all students start searching in different sources and gathering information. In the next session, we presented a lot of evidence and refutes the professors claim strongly. Therefore, we can easily access a lot of information through the internet and other available sources in the present. Hence, it is reasonable that teachers would be more appreciated in their society.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that in the past teachers were more appreciated and valued in their society rather than today. Indeed, they not only were the most educated persons of their society but also they were the only source of information and people had no choice except trust their knowledge.