What are the main causes of deforestation, and how do they affect the environment and discuss about the possible solution

It has believed that forests are the lungs of the earth. While deforestation and the practical solutions to stop it are a public concern these days, statistics show it is still going on. In this short essay, I will elaborate on the causes, impacts and what we should do to stop it.

Wood and land are the main reasons behind the mass cutting of trees. Although there are some regulations in support of forest conservation in almost all countries, still illegal logging is vastly happening because some people see forests as free sources of wood. Besides, needing the land under the forests for a variety of purposes like road making, mining, house constructions, etc is another reason for the clearcutting of the trees.

Of course, the consequences will not be just for the people involved in it but for everyone. First, trees are the best weapon that we have against carbon dioxide. Thus, fewer trees mean more air pollution, and consequently global warming, more disease, and much more difficulties for human-being. What is more, destroying jungles can lead to destroying of the ecosystem as some species may need to immigrate to find a new habitat as a result of deforestation which will affect the food web as well. Therefore, this can cause the extinction of the species as they may not adapt to their new living conditions.

The question is, what should we do to stop it or minimize the damage? In my opinion, strict regulation is not enough to prevent illegal activities. There must be organizations which are responsible for supervising every human activity in jungles. Besides, however, sometimes clearcutting might be inevitable, reforestation and minimizing its negative impacts on the ecosystems are the least responsibilities of authorities.