Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both reasons against and in favor of the idea that there will be fewer cars in the future. but if I were forced to choose, I would definitely disagree with this statement. it is my firm belief that there will be fewer cars in the future than today for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas is the subsequent paragraph.

First of all, due to the improved technologies public transportation systems have improved and their benefits become more attractive for people. On the other hand the disadvantages of driving a car, like hours of traffic and high gas costs may drive some people to think about alternatives. Not to mention the many changes of globalization, which makes life highly fast paced and thereby time extremely important, almost too important to waste it with driving a car. While public transportations offer tremendous assets. For example, you can use your time on the bus or train for other things, like work or to relax a minute. Of course, technologies like self driving cars or electro car are in development, but drawing from my experiences, this improvements might need more time than two decades to evolve. In addition, such cars will be fare more expensive and a lot of people tend to choose cheaper public transportations over them.

Secondly, ecological and environmental mindsets increase all around the world. The attention of a huge group of people rise towards protecting and preserving nature. Therefore more and more humans try to reduce their carbon footprint, and a great way to do so is reducing the usage of cars. Moreover resources like gas are rarely limited and might someday be used up. Especially in younger generations this mindset seem develop, which can be concluded from all those protests like “Fridays for future”.

I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experiences. you see, in high school almost every student in the graduating classes had a drivers license, but instead of driving all alone by ourselves, we used to carpool and organized groups from the same direction to share a car. As a result we minimized the amount of gas we would had used and it was even much more fun, because we had the chance to spend time with our friends in the cars before school.

In light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that in twenty year numbers of cars in use will decrease in contrast to today.