Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of this statement. But if I were forced to choose, I would definitely disagree with this statement. it is my firm believe that it is really important for people to focus on themselves especially nowadays, for a number of reasons and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraph.

first of all our way of living has changed drastically over the last decade due to the globalization and improved technologies. A lot of people struggle with this fast paced life and have issues to cope with all this changes. it makes it more important for humans to take some time off and focus on their well being, before they might develop mental illnesses. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced on my own personal experiences. You see last year I made an internship in an mental health department, and illnesses like burn outs or depressions increased over the last several year, because people have to face a high pressure to perform in this society.

For this reason, I think it is really important some spend time on personal enjoyment.

Secondly, personal fullfillment is the highest achievement of humans in our society and experiencing joy, is an important goal of life. life is all about opportunities we did not take and to avoiding those regrets, I think people should spend more time on their interests in order to be happy and grow on a personal level. Drawing from my experiences, it is clear to see why I hold this point of view. When I attended high school, I laid my focus mainly on studying and missed out on some few typical experiences. While my fellow students first goal was having fun, I learned for my exams and took myself under pressure to get good grades. However, I regret not taking some opportunities.

In light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that people should spend their time to achieve their personal goals.