Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today

Does number of cars will be decreased after two decades? Well, I believe that after twenty years from now, the number of cars will be more than there are today. However, there are many factors we need to look upon to understand this statement.

First of all, the question raises in my mind is that : does demand of cars are decreasing over time? As we all know that the demands and supplies for cars have been continuously increasing day by day. After industrial revolution in 19th centuary, number of factories which manufacture car accessories or assemble car parts have been increased due to high demands. People are becoming weathier and the cars are becoming cheaper. Therefore, it is obvious that the people are buying more cars now then earlier. And this will go on even after two decades as human popullation has been increasing exponentially.

Personally, I think number of cars will always be greater at any point of time than earlier time. How many cars people have today in one home than in past? As I remember, My dad bought first car for us when I was five years old. And now after twenty years, we have three cars in our house and the irony is that the number of family members are still the same. People prefers conveniency over expenses. We do not like to stand in lines for buses or wait for trains these days. In today's world "Time is money." People are living busier lives than ever. The working hours in any office has been increased since last centuary. For example, in the United States, in 19th century the average weekly working hours were 40, but today people are working 60 hours in week. In today's competitive world, time, money and comfort are the main things people are looking for. People are looking for easy and quick transport services. And that is why it is obvious that demands cars are increasing day by day. Therefore, it would not be true to predict that the number of cars will decrease.

However, in many developed countries, the government has imposed heavy taxes on buying cars to prevent environmental problems. As we know, more cars means more pollutions. So many people are trying to support this motive by using car pooling or avoiding car travels and using more and more eco-friendly vehicles or say public transports like bus, metros, etc. However, buying a car is a common dream of every person. People who uses puiblic transports have cars too for reasons like sometime usage or for emergency perposes. Therefore, despite using car everyday or not, people are still buying cars.

In final analysis, having cars has became a 'status symbol' these days. So people are buying cars just because they want to despite their actual needs. Thus, I can predict that after twenty years people will have more cars than now for sure.