Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Universities should require every graduation student to take public speaking courses Give specific examples and details to support your answer

The ability to communicate with others is always concerned by many individuals, some people believe that students in college need more practice for speaking and they prefer to let students take public speaking courses. Nevertheless, I think universities don’t need to add an additional requirement that students need to take public speaking courses. I will elaborate on my illustration for three reasons.

First of all, the environment in colleges already gives students an atmosphere for practicing to public speaking. A standard university has a lot of departments in it and definitely provides students with stages to communicate, and eventually, their communication will develop into spellbinding speaking to the public. For instance, the architecture department in a college usually has many seminars for students to put out their opinion on issues about society or publicity. The topic of them involves many aspects of the public lives such as how to design a comprehensive building for public. During discussions, students will eventually enhance their speaking skills in public. However, when universities need students to submit a registration for public speaking courses, students will have less communication in their majors.

Secondly, the public speaking class for every student will occupy a lot of resources of universities, both in financial and academy. A university always has a large number of students, letting them take speech lessons will be a frustrating thing for the financial department of the university. On the other hand, the school needs to prepare a sophisticated schedule for students, which is a total waste of many for students and staff’s time. Some students need to have a lot of time to practice such as taking a volunteer activity or being an intern in a company in their major. Taking a public speech class will disrupt their plan.

Finally, some people may give an illustration that a requirement for students’ public speaking courses can give students more chances in career development. Unfortunately, the result of classes may have somewhat benefits but they can not make students more confidence in future job finding or business practicing. A successful person in a career field needs to be evaluated by many divisions, and the skill of expression in public is just a single aspect of judgments of a person. The employer needs to concern more about a person and give a fair statement. Just focusing on how to describe an issue well is not enough for career enhancement in future life.

In conclusion, a proposal for some teaching agenda needs a lot of discussion and conversation in society and it is a very complex issue to give the best choice. However, I believe that a public talking class is unnecessary for students, universities, and society. The resources need to be tapped into truly important fields.