Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I, firmly believe that sports and social activities play vital role in our lives. No doubt, libraries and academic classes are equally important in student's life. But, we should not overemphasize, academic area only, leaving behind sports and social activities. It is the duty of university and government to provide equal funding. I, hold this opinion because of three different reasons which will be explained by me in subsequent paragraghs.

First and foremost, If sports area is funded by university, providing better sports equipments, tennis courts, a special trainer for training sessions, football and volleyball fields, making a University team. Then, some of the students under proper supervision and guidance of couch, can grab state/National medals. Which, inturn will bring recognition to the university.

Second, University is responsible for the wholistic development of the graduates, which includes healthy body, mind and soul. Sports and social activities will enhance their pysical and mental strength. For eg, playing football as a sport, leads to development of critical thinking and analyzing the opponents strategies. Moreover, many researches have proved that pursuing any of the sport sharpens mind. So, university should invest in overall upliftment of students.

Lastly, Social activities such as inter- university programs, competitions, celebrations helps to explore the inner potential of many students. For instance, Some students might have talent of singing or dancing or playing guitar. If, they are given chance to perform on stage, they will feel motivated to pursue that further. Social activities helps to know our strengths and weaknesses. It teaches basic human qualities to students such as co-operation, sportsmanshi and brotherhood. These learnings will always remain with them during their life time. Therefore, university should provide funding for such activities mandatorily.

In conclusion, Libraries and academic classes should be taken care of as these are important part of education, along with equal focus on sports and social activities.