Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Universities and colleges have an amalgamation of activities that are provided to the students in order to ensure their all-round development. These activities include classes, sports and other social activities. Even though all these activities are equally important, it is essential to provide a majority of the financial support available to the academical prospects i.e to classes, libraries, laboratories and other required amenities.

The financial support provided to academic activities needs to have an upper hand because the institute is accredited for providing high-level education than it is for providing co-curricular activities. Hence, it is important to provide all the facilities that are needed for academic enhancement and progress.

It is also important because if equal financial support is provided to all the activities, then it will be difficult to provide substantial funding to large projects or innovative ideas. For instance, if a college provided equal financial support to its sports department as well as its research laboratories, and if the sports department did not require the allotted amount because of various reasons like lesser number of sportspersons or smaller strength of the college and on the contrary if the research laboratories require a larger investment than that which is allotted, then it will be a problem. This is because the research laboratories may be deprived of the required facilities for their project and may not be able to complete it. This may lead to a loss of time and utilities. It could also harm the reputation of the college because of their lack of advanced technologies.

Along with that, it is important to understand the total number of the students participating in all the activities in order to understand the amount of financial support to be provided to each activity. For example, if a college has a significant number of students then the library needs to be able to provide academic material for all the students. Hence, the library will need more funding.

Thus, it is important to understand that the major focus of an university or a college has to be academic advancement and so, the financial support must be provided accordingly.