Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is commonly believed worldwide that academia is the sole purpose of educational institutions and should have maximum monetary investment and support. The value of extracurricular activities is rapidly shrinking in today’s hectic and competitive world that focuses on academic accomplishments. Nowadays, People tend to assume that students don’t need extracurricular activities in order to succeed in college or in life in general. I strongly believe that institutions should support sports and social activities equally to academia. I believe so for two reasons which I will be discussing in this passage.

One of the major reasons to encourage extracurricular activities in academic settings is the urgent need for students to relax. Limiting students’ ability to participate in extracurricular activities can have negative consequences on their physical and psychological health. It has been scientifically proven that students who don’t take the necessary amount of time off from their schoolwork, develop symptoms of chronical mental illnesses such as anxiety and depression. In addition to that, suicide rates have been increasing amongst college student in the past few decades. Students often get so drawn into their schoolwork that they feel there is no way out. The importance of social activities and sports is witnessed then. For instance, when I was in junior year, I attended long hours of lectures every day, then go home, study and do assignments until past midnight. It was extremely frustrating to keep up with this schedule that by the end of my fist semester as a junior, I started to feel discouraged and depressed. My professor noticed my state and advised me to spend more time outside academia to regain my poise. Thankfully, my university is a huge supporter of extracurricular activities, and I was able to join the swimming team at my institution. Being in a different setting than academic ones had a positive impact on my life as I was able to relieve much of my stress and regain my focus and encouragement.

Another prominent motive for institutions to financially support sports activities, is the high financial return on investment in sports. Since educational institutions’ goal is to invest wisely and to the maximum returns, it is important to note the potential of sports in terms of monetary value. Schools benefit from student athletes during national tournaments and international championships. Financial benefits can come in many shapes and forms, such as advertising campaigns, prize money and sponsorships. To illustrate, universities in the United States give out major academic scholarships for incoming student athletes each year. Moreover, students who are athletes are more likely to get admitted to university than students who aren’t athletes. This is because universities acknowledge the benefits student athletes can bring them. For example, my university supports athletes and encourages them to participate in national level tournaments each year. Two years ago, we won the national championship for basketball. The team started receiving media attention, which in return diverted the attention back to our school and it soon started receiving offers for advertisement campaigns from multiple companies. The pay was substantial enough for my school to do renovations in our laboratories and build a new football field.

In conclusion, it is apparent form the above discussion that proper investment in leisure activities and sports is crucial for students’ wellbeing and schools’ progression. Hence, I completely agree with the given statement.