Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

This question represents the arbitrary choice regarding the way of communicate. Some prefer people elaborate their ideas physically while some incline to express them digitally. As far as I am concerned, my own preference and experience have led me to conclude that people will work better for the project if we communicate about it in person.

To begin with, personally, I think I will do a better work if I communicate about a project in person, for it will be more easily to observe others. When we discuss face to face, I can read my team member’s reaction and emotion, which means I can notice instantly if there are something controversial or inappropriate. For example, once I discussed my proposal with professor by email, I misunderstood the meaning that contained in the words which the professor typed, so I got a very low grade on that homework.

In addition, I consider that communicating face to face is more efficient than sending email. This may sound absurd because sending email spends less time. However, just because sending email spend less time, so people usually will not reply it efficiently. Take one of my friends, Jeff, for example, he always forget to reply the email that send to him, since he thinks he can do it later after he received it.

Finally, communicating about project physically can encourage people to make more effort on it. Imagining two circumstances, one is you discuss with your classmates and colleagues in person, and everyone express their thoughts about the project sincerely, hoping all of you can make all-out effort on the project so you can accomplish the project perfectly together. The other situation is just cold and indifferent alphabets on email that exchange some information for the project. Apparently, at least for myself, the former one make me want to work harder on the project.

Given the reasons above, I firmly believe that communicate with others in person can make a better result. This is not to say that the opposite opinion is totally unreasonable. Nevertheless, I believe I have substantiated reasons to support my point of view.