Would you prefer to take courses taught by professors with whom you have already had other classes during your past years of study, or would you prefer to take courses with professors whose classes you have never taken before? Why?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

In every semester, university students are asked to register for compulsory courses and optional courses, which enables them to encounter different professors in each course. An undeniable fact is that new professors can bring about a sense of refreshment to students with new speaking styles, which might mislead some people to generate the opinion that choosing the courses taught by unfamiliar professors is a more desirable choice. However, this view suffers from logical and factual fallacies. As far as academic performance and the pace of the course are concerned, I would give a priority to the professor whom I am familiar with.

First and foremost,familiar professor can provide us with constructive and tailor-made advice so that students can better improve their academic performances. As a matter of fact, based on the previous exposure by grading students’ assignments, assessing our presentations and solving the raised questions during office hours, familiar professors can get better insight into those who register for their courses before. As a result, they are able to know their strengths and limitations and thus offer tailor-made suggestions on new academic projects. My personal experience can be a compelling example of this. The last time when I selected one course named Art History taught by professor Hill. He knew me well through the prior contact by evaluating my final paper and giving guidance on group projects in another course he taught. Thus, he was aware of my disadvantages that I always included redundant words depicting something unrelated with the topic. Due to such prior exposure, he warned me about this problem during office hours, recommending that I should present more personal ideas in the article. Following his guidance, I corrected my defects and involve as many individual views as possible, which helped me to earn an “Excellent” in his course.

Secondly, being exposed to the professors before enables students to keep up with the pace of the course. In fact, every professor has distinguished teaching methods. In other words, students who are not exposed to such method before have to spend time on adapting it. In contrast, students who have prior experiences can be more adaptive to the course and thus keep up with the pace of professors. Take myself, an ordinary university student, as an example, when I was a freshman, I select a course named Probability taught by my familiar professor, whom had taught me Liner Algebra before. Through the Liner Algebra, I was aware that he preferred to include some knowledge outside of our textbooks, which required us to do some extensive reading of other materials. In order to keep up the pace with him, before the class usually did I read other books like Time Series, Future contract and Derivatives, and so on. In this case, I can always understand the key points in his lecture.

In conclusion, the courses taught by our familiar professors should be prioritized.