Would you prefer to take courses taught by professors with whom you have already had other classes during your past years of study, or would you prefer to take courses with professors whose classes you have never taken before? Why?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

In every semester, university students are required to register for compulsory courses and optional courses, which enables them to meet different professors in each course. An undeniable fact is that encountering a new professor can furnish students a sense of refreshment, which mislead some people to generate the idea that choosing the courses taught by unknown professor is a desirable option. However, this idea suffers from both logical and factual fallacies. As far as academic performance and the pace of course are concerned, I will give a priority to courses taught by my familiar professor.

First and foremost, choosing the familiar professor can ensure better academic performance by providing us instructive advice on academy. As a matter of fact, familiar professor can know us better through the prior exposure by grading our assignments, watching our previous presentations, resolving our puzzle in class during office hours and so on. Such exposure makes the professor better get insight into our strengths and limitations. As a result, they can offer us valuable suggestions in the new course’s project. My personal experience can be a compelling example of this. The last time when I registered for a course named Artistic Aesthetics, I found that the professor happened to teach me before in a course named Literature Writing. Due to the prior experience, the professor knew that although I could write a well-organized paper, sometimes I just included unnecessary details in my paper, which made it long-winded. Therefore, the next time I went to his office for some help with my new course’s project, he told me about this problem and encouraged me to prevent it in the project. Following his guidance, I deleted all the redundant portions and only included my personal views about a specific artifacts. Thanks to his instructive advice, I finally got an “Excellent” in this course.

Second, being exposed to the professor before enables students to keep pace with the course. In fact, different professors have their own teaching styles and methods. In other words, students who register for their courses for the first time have to spend time on adapting their courses. Sometimes they will feel uneasy with it so that they might lag far behind other students. In contrast, students who are familiar with the professor are more adaptive to their teaching styles so that they can keep pace with the professor easily. Take myself, an ordinary student, as an example. When I was a freshman, I selected one course named Probability that was taught by the one whom had taught me Liner Algebra before. Due to the prior experiences, I was aware that he preferred to include some knowledge outside of our textbooks so that I always read associated textbooks to make preparations before the class, which made it easier for me to have a good command of what he taught in the lecture. Had it not been the previous exposure, I would feel uncomfortable and puzzled in his course.

In conclusion, the courses taught by familiar professors should be prioritized for the sake of students themselves.