Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?
Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because
they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking
Web site.
Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer
We live in a sophisticated world in which science and technology have become
an inalienable part of our life. Some people believe that new technologies have
eased the way children are being educated, while other people disagree with this
idea. I am of the opinion that technology is of great importance for children
education. In the following essay, I will explore why I feel this way.
To begin with, technological devices could facilitate learning. Indeed, there are
a lot of devices and tools such as smart-phones, social networking websites,
online games, etcetera that could help children to learn new experience that
children in the past were not able to. For example, take my little brother who is
fifteen. Thanks to access the various technological tools such as smart-phones
or personal computer that my father has provided, my brother spend more than
six hours each day playing games and searching on the internet. Not only his
English language has improved during these years, but also he has learned a lot
of knowledge about different topic. I can consider when I was a 10 years old
kid, I had not access smartphones or internet. When it comes to compare my
brother as a fifteen years old kid with myself when I was a kid, I really
understand that his knowledge about different areas is more than me at the age
of fifteen.
Moreover, computer games could help kids to have an active mind. Indeed,
since kids had no access to online games in the past, they were not able to think
critically. My little brother, as I mentioned in the first paragraph, could be a
compelling example of this. As I told, he spends about six hours each day
dealing with technological devices to play games that could help him to think
critically about different situation he is dealing with in the computer games.
Hence, all these games act as an exercise for his brain which could help my
brother to have an agile mind. I think so because he sometimes come up with
new idea which render me to believe he is really of a powerful mind. Had not he
played online games, he would not have been able to have such convincing
ideas.
In conclusion, I believe that educating children are easier nowadays when it
compared to the past. This is because newly available tools that kids in the past
did not access them have provided children with practical ways to improve their
knowledge, and because playing games makes them have more creative mind
than kids in the past.